allthingspsych90

As someone who has journaled off and on throughout their life and has been blogging consistently for the past several months, I already knew some of the benefits of writing. However , since I spent the month of November writing the rough draft of an autobiography, I felt like this would be a great time for me to better understand, reflect on, and share the therapuetic benefits of writing.

One, it helps you get your thoughts and feelings out of your mind and on to paper. There is something freeing about this process which spoken word poet Sarah DeMulder refers to as “making the internal external”.

Two, it helps you better understand yourself. It helps you identify and label your feelings. It helps you understand the thought patterns you have, and the way you view your life. For me, it helps me see that I have often longed for friendship…

View original post 182 more words

